What can we help you with?

P 02 9391 7000
E records@woollahra.nsw.gov.au
536 New South Head Road, Double Bay NSW 2028

Contact us

Development Control Committee (DCC)

In This Section

Local Planning Panel (LPP)

The NSW State Government has introduced legislation requiring all councils in the greater Sydney region and Wollongong to have Local Planning Panels (LPPs) in place by 1 March 2018.

The last Development Control Committee (DCC) meeting was held on Monday 19 February 2018.

The principal function of the LPP will be to determine local development applications (DAs) that are of high value, corruption risk, sensitivity or strategic importance. The function of council as a consent authority for development applications will no longer be exercisable by the Councilors.

The LPP established for Woollahra Council will comprise of four members, being three experts and one community representative.

The first meeting of the new panel will be in March. Council will continue to update all DA stakeholders including residents of the LPP operating procedures. These updates will be uploaded onto Council’s website as the operational procedures are developed.

For further information please visit the Department of Planning and Environment NSW website.

Meeting details and procedure

The Development Control Committee (DCC) assesses and determines development applications. Matters from this meeting can be referred to a site inspection held on the Wednesday morning following the DCC. All Councillors may attend and vote at DCC Site Inspections. Recommendations from the site inspections are considered at the next DCC meeting.

Meetings are held on the 1st and 3rd Monday of each month at 6:00pm in the Committee Room, ground floor, 536 New South Head Road, Double Bay. Due to the large number of reports considered by the Committee, the meetings are generally divided into two sessions. The first session starts at 6:00pm and the second session commences at 8:00pm. Read the DCC meeting procedure and check the upcoming meetings calendar for current and future dates.

Members of the community can address the committee (see Having your say at meetings for guidelines).

Agendas and Minutes

The agenda contains the recommendations from DCC Site Inspections held since the last Committee meeting and other items, which include comprehensive reports and recommendations from staff. The agenda and individual reports for each meeting are available from 12pm on the Wednesday before the meeting from the following locations:

The agenda will also be available at the meeting.

Minutes are available three days after the meeting.

Committee members

The DCC comprises seven Councillors:

  • Mayor, Cr Peter Cavanagh, ex-officio
  • Cr Susan Wynne (Chair)
  • Cr Nick Maxwell (Deputy Chair)
  • Cr Mary-Lou Jarvis
  • Cr Anthony Marano
  • Cr Matthew Robertson
  • Cr Isabelle Shapiro
  • Cr Mark Silcocks

The quorum for a DCC meeting is four Councillors. The Mayor is also a voting member of all Committees.


Further information may be obtained by contacting Council's Governance Department on 9391 7001.

Back to Top