Woollahra Digital Literary Award

Woollahra Digital Literary Award

The Woollahra Digital Literary Award is Now Open for Entries.

The Woollahra Digital Literary Award is a national literary award supporting innovation in Australian literature and publishing, encouraging writers producing work in a digital medium.

Entries close 15 August.

Enter Now

Please subscribe to the Newsletter for updates on the Woollahra Digital Literary Award. 

Key dates

Entries open: Friday 17 May 2024

Entries close: Thursday 15 August 2024

Shortlist announced: Friday 8 November 2024

Winners announced: Wednesday 27 November 2024


How to Enter

All entries must be submitted via our online entry form, and include a link to a URL where the work can be accessed at no cost.

For judging, if your work is housed online behind a paywall, please help us to access and read your submission easily by providing version of your work in a PDF format, which you can upload via our online entry form (files submitted need to be 10MB or less).

Please ensure PDF filenames include the name of the author and the title of the work.
Example: Woollahra Digital Literary Award NAME TITLE.pdf

Begin your online entry

Categories and prizes

Fiction ($2,500 prize)
A short story, short story collection, novella or novel - published in the first instance online or in an electronic format that can be accessed on a computer, tablet or mobile device. Novella or short story entries, 3,000-30,000 words. Novels over 30,000 words can be entered by providing a PDF sample of 1-2 chapters. Judges may request access to full novel for reading based on initial read of a sample.

Non-Fiction ($2,500 prize)
A monograph, collection of essays or a long essay - published in the first instance online or in an electronic format that can be accessed on a computer, tablet or mobile device. 3,000-30,000 words. Longer digital monographs can be entered by providing a PDF sample of 1-2 chapters. Judges may request access to full monograph for reading based on initial read of a sample.

Poetry ($1,000 prize)
Works of poetry published in the first instance online or in an electronic format that can be accessed on a computer, tablet or mobile device. Video and multimedia poems accepted, as well as text-based poetry that has been published online in the first instance. Maximum word count is 3,000 words. There is no minimum word count. 

Digital Innovation ($1,500)
Works of fiction, non-fiction, poetry (or a hybrid of these) published in the first instance online or in an electronic format that can be accessed on a computer, tablet or mobile device. This is a professional writing category where digital technology is used in an innovative way to enhance written storytelling. We are looking for works that seamlessly integrate digital elements in the story in a new and dynamic way to generate mood, tone and genre.

Entries can solely be entered into the Digital Innovation Category if they don't easily meet the criteria for Fiction, Non-Fiction or Poetry (above).

The Readers’ Choice Award is an additional prize of $250 that is offered once the shortlist is announced. This Award invites everyone in the community to read the shortlist and cast a vote for their favourite entry.


Meet our judges:

DLA Fiction judge Claudine Tinellis

Fiction: Claudine Tinellis

Claudine Tinellis is a Sydney-based author, podcaster and presenter/moderator. A former corporate lawyer, Claudine ventured into the world of publishing in 2014 as the editor of Coastal Chef: Culinary Art of Seaweed & Algae in the 21st Century. In the years since, Claudine has dedicated herself to writing fiction and finding varying ways to support the world of Australian literature. She is an executive founding member of the Northern Beaches Readers Festival and has moderated for many book launches and other festivals. With more than 270 different authors interviewed to date, Claudine's podcast Talking Aussie Books is a popular program  bringing readers and writers of Australian Fiction together. 

DLA Nonfiction judge Tiffany Tsao

Non-Fiction: Tiffany Tsao

Tiffany Tsao is a writer and literary translator, and the erstwhile editor of The Circular – a Sydney Review of Books newsletter aimed at keeping the best Australian digital nonfiction in circulation. Her novel Under Your Wings was longlisted for the Ned Kelly Award. Her translation work was awarded the 2023 NSW Premier's Translation Prize and the 2023 PEN Translation Prize. She has a Ph.D. in English from UC-Berkeley.

Ali Whitelock

Poetry: Ali Whitelock

Ali Whitelock is a Scottish poet and writer. Her poetry collection, the lactic acid in the calves of your despair is long listed for the ALS Gold Medal for an outstanding literary work in 2020 and is published by Wakefield Press. Her debut collection, and my heart crumples like a coke can (also Wakefield Press) has a forthcoming UK edition by Polygon, UK. Her memoir, poking seaweed with a stick and running away from the smell (Wakefield Press & Polygon) was launched at Sydney Writers' Festival to critical acclaim. She has just released her third book of poetry, a brief letter to the sea about a couple of things.

Brett Osmond

Digital Innnovation: Brett Osmond

Brett Osmond has been Managing Director at creative and digital agency, Leading Hand Design since 2016. He is a former Marketing and Publicity Director at Penguin Random House where he became Head of Digital and was part of the ebooks leadership team. Brett was Director of the Federal Government’s Books Alive campaign.



The Woollahra Digital Literary Award is open to all Australian Residents aged 16 years and over, who have published work online in the first instance in last two years.

Submitted works must be available online as: .epub, .pbd, .mobi/azw, .ibooks or .pdf file from a known e-book vendor or platform (such as iBookstore, Google Play, Amazon, Bookworld, Kobo, Baker & Taylor or Overdrive), or as an multimedia piece, story, article, essay or poetry available on an online magazine, journal or website that has an editorial selection process.

Please note: Entrants must provide a URL to the web location where digital work can be accessed as proof of publication. It is the responsibility of each entrant to provide a working URL. Only works that were published in a digital format in the first instance will be accepted for judging.


Check the conditions of entry and frequently asked questions.

Sponsorship opportunities

We are currently accepting contributions and partnership proposals for the 2024 Woollahra Digital Literary Award. For information on levels of support and reciprocal benefits, please review our Award Sponsorship Package(PDF, 3MB)

Woollahra Libraries operates under the Council’s endorsed Deductible Gift Recipient (DGR) Fund(PDF, 430KB) and Donations and Sponsorship Policy(PDF, 673KB).

Subscribe to our newsletter - For Award updates and announcements


For more information, please contact:
Team Leader Library Events and Programs
Woollahra Libraries
Telephone: 9391 7100
Email: dla@woollahra.nsw.gov.au