Woollahra Digital Literary Award

In This Section
Library Search ×
Login Join

Woollahra Digital Literary Award

The Woollahra Digital Literary Award is a national literary award supporting innovation in Australian literature and publishing, encouraging writers producing work in a digital medium. Please subscribe to the Newsletter for updates on the 2022 Woollahra Digital Literary Award.

Categories and prizes

Fiction ($2,500 prize)
A novella or short story collection - published in the first instance online or in an electronic format that can be accessed on a computer, tablet or mobile device. 3,000-30,000 words.

Non-Fiction ($2,500 prize)
A monograph, collection of essays or a long essay - published in the first instance online or in an electronic format that can be accessed on a computer, tablet or mobile device. 3,000-30,000 words.

Poetry ($1,000 prize)
Works of poetry published in the first instance online or in an electronic format that can be accessed on a computer, tablet or mobile device. The maximum word count is 3,000 words. There is no minimum word count.

Digital Innovation ($1,500)
Works of fiction, non-fiction, poetry (or a hybrid of these) published in the first instance online or in an electronic format that can be accessed on a computer, tablet or mobile device. This is a professional writing category where digital technology is used in an innovative way to enhance written storytelling. We are looking for works that seamlessly integrate digital elements in the story in a new and dynamic way to generate mood, tone and genre.

Maximum word count is 30,000 words.

The Readers’ Choice Award is an additional prize of $250 that is offered once the shortlist is announced. This Award invites everyone in the community to read the shortlist and cast a vote for their favourite entry.

Key dates

Entries open Wednesday 1 June 2022 and close on Monday 29 August 2022 with the shortlist announced on Friday 4 November 2022. The Award Presentation will take place on Wednesday 23 November 2022.


Please subscribe to the Newsletter for updates regarding the Judges of the 2022 Woollahra Digital Literary Award.

Meet our judges:

Julie Janson

Fiction: Julie Janson

Julie is a Burruberongal woman of the Darug Aboriginal nation. She is a novelist, playwright, and poet. Her most recent novel Benevolence was longlisted for the NIB Literary Award (2020) and the Voss Literary Award. Her new Indigenous crime novel Madukka the River Serpent will be published in 2023. While living in remote Northern Territory Aboriginal communities in her early years as a teacher, Julie began writing Indigenous plays and making giant puppets, masks and costumes. Her career as a playwright began with productions at Belvoir St Theatre, Adelaide Festival Centre and Sydney Opera House. She is co-recipient of the Oodgeroo Noonuccal Poetry Prize (2016) and the Judith Wright Poetry Prize (2019).

Vanessa Berry

Non-Fiction: Vanessa Berry

Vanessa Berry is a Lecturer in Creative Writing at the University of Sydney, and lives and works on Gadigal land. Her writing examines memory, urban environments, material objects and imagination. She is the author of nonfiction works including Gentle and Fierce (2021), Mirror Sydney (2017), based on the popular Mirror Sydney blog, and the memoirs Ninety9 and Strawberry Hills Forever. She is the author of the long-running autobiographical zine series I am a Camera and her zine and illustration works have been exhibited at major Australian galleries.

Ali Whitelock

Poetry: Ali Whitelock

Ali Whitelock is a Scottish poet and writer. Her poetry collection, the lactic acid in the calves of your despair is long listed for the ALS Gold Medal for an outstanding literary work in 2020 and is published by Wakefield Press. Her debut collection, and my heart crumples like a coke can (also Wakefield Press) has a forthcoming UK edition by Polygon, UK. Her memoir, poking seaweed with a stick and running away from the smell (Wakefield Press & Polygon) was launched at Sydney Writers' Festival to critical acclaim.

Brett Osmond

Digital Innovation: Brett Osmond

Brett Osmond has been Managing Director at creative and digital agency, Leading Hand Design since 2016.

He is a former Marketing and Publicity Director at Penguin Random House where he became Head of Digital and was part of the ebooks leadership team, and was also Director of the Federal Government’s Books Alive campaign.


The Woollahra Digital Literary Award is open to all Australian Residents aged 16 years and over, who have published work online in the first instance in last two years.

Submitted works must be available online as: .epub, .pbd, .mobi/azw, .ibooks or .pdf file from a known e-book vendor or platform (such as iBookstore, Google Play, Amazon, Bookworld, Kobo, Baker & Taylor or Overdrive), or as an article, essay or poetry available on an online magazine, journal or website that has an editorial selection process.

Please note: Entrants must provide a URL to the web location where digital work can be accessed as proof of publication. It is the responsibility of each entrant to provide a working URL. Only works that were published in a digital format in the first instance will be accepted for judging.

Check the conditions of entry and frequently asked questions.

How to enter

All entries must be submitted via our online entry form, and include a link to a URL where the work can be accessed at no cost. If your submitted work is only available via a paywall (eg via an ebook vendor), please provide a version of your work for judging in a PDF format via our online entry form.

For judging, if your work is housed online behind a paywall, please help us to access and read your submission easily by formatting an electronic document as an A4 double spaced PDF in 12 point font with a page number on each page.

Please ensure PDF filenames include the name of the author and the title of the work.
Example: Woollahra Digital Literary Award NAME TITLE.pdf

Begin your online entry

Past winners

Find out about our past winners, including judges comments and shortlisted entries.


For more information, please contact:
Events and Programs Coordinator
Woollahra Libraries
Telephone: 9391 7100
Email: dla@woollahra.nsw.gov.au