2019 Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize finalists announced

In This Section
Kieta Jackson - Braggadocio

Kieta Jackson - Braggadocio

Published 14 August 2019

43 international and Australian artists have been announced as finalists for this year’s Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize and exhibition, which will open 11 October.

The innovative submissions – each for a freestanding sculpture of up to 80cm in any dimension – were selected from 634 entries by a judging panel comprised of Professor Ross Harley, Dean of the Faculty of Art & Design and UNSW Chair of Arts and Culture, Louise Herron AM, Chief Executive Officer, Sydney Opera House, and Tim Ross, design and architecture advocate, broadcaster, author and comedian.

The 2019 finalist group includes artists from Australia, New Zealand and the United Kingdom highlighting the Prize’s growing international reputation.

The judging panel focused on excellence in execution and were moved by the wide range of materials, colours and textures used in the works.Alison McDonald - Silent iterations of change
Alison McDonald - Silent iterations of change 

We have been struck by how many of the finalist works respond to the big questions of the day; exploring issues around culture, the natural world and the role of the human in these spaces. While many works deal with heavy issues, we haven’t turned away from the humour in some of the works and the selection ultimately has something for everyone to engage with.” - Professor Ross Harley

A free exhibition of all the finalist sculptures will be presented from Friday 11 October to Sunday 3 November 2019 at Woollahra Council Chambers. The winners will be announced at the launch of the exhibition on 11 October with further details to be provided closer to the time. A series of Artists’ Talks and Community Workshops will be presented as part of the program.

You can visit the exhibition from 11 October until 3 November 2019 at Woollahra Council Chambers in Double Bay. Prize money this year totals $24,000 across four categories. The Prize categories are the main Acquisitive award of $20,000; a Special Commendation award of $2,000; the Viewers’ Choice award of $1,000; and the Mayors Award of $1,000.

Jane Price - Clouds
Jane Price - Clouds 

To see the full list of finalists visit the Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize website.

Browse more articles

Woollahra News e-newsletter

Subscribe to our monthly e-newsletter Woollahra News and get updates delivered straight to your inbox.