What can we help you with?

P 02 9391 7000
E records@woollahra.nsw.gov.au
536 New South Head Road, Double Bay NSW 2028

Contact us

The 2017 Doug Moran National Portrait Prize is now open

In This Section

Published: 5 July 2017

Entries are now open for the 2017 Doug Moran National Portrait Prize (DMNPP). Australian artists are invited to submit original works capturing Australians from any walk of life, whether a public figure or not.

The winner of the DMNPP, an acquisitive award, receives $150,000. All finalists receive $1,000. All finalists will have their work included in the annual catalogue created to accompany the touring exhibition and be featured on the Moran Prizes and Moran Arts Foundation website and growing social communities on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

Established in 1988, the Doug Moran National Portrait Prize is Australia's richest art prize and has seen many of Australia's most prominent portrait artists included in its ranks.

2017 Doug Moran National Portrait Prize Judges

  • Daniel Thomas AM
    Emeritus Director of the Art Gallery of South Australia
  • Wendy Sharpe
    One of Australia’s most awarded artists
  • Greta Moran
    Director Moran Arts Foundation

Entries close: Wednesday 30 August 2017
Winners announced:
Wednesday 25 October 2017

View the entry criteria

Return to current news...

Back to Top