Nominations open for 2021 Woollahra Design Excellence Awards

In This Section
2019 Winner - Design (Alterations and Additions) Homage to Oscar by Luigi Rosselli Architects

2019 Winner - Design (Alterations and Additions) Homage to Oscar by Luigi Rosselli Architects

Published 31 March 2021

Local residents and their architects, planners, builders or consultants are encouraged to nominate excellent design in projects within the Woollahra Local Government Area, for official recognition in the Woollahra Design Excellence Awards.

The bi-annual Awards recognise buildings and places completed within the last five years that make an excellent contribution to the character and heritage of Woollahra, and celebrate outstanding urban design.

Winners in seven categories will be selected from shortlisted properties by independent expert judges Michael Heenan, CEO, Principle Design, Allen Jack+Cottier, Bruce Pettman, Director Heritage Asset Advisory for NSW Public Works Advisory, and Caroline Pidcock, Director, Pidcock Pty Ltd.

“Woollahra is unique in the harbour city of Sydney, and the Council’s Design Excellence Awards recognise the best of the best. I’m excited to be on this year’s judging panel to see what has been achieved,” Michael Heenan said.

Adds Caroline Piddock, “Good design does not just happen. It eventually emerges from a complex system of good clients, architects, consultant teams, builders and councils who help guide the design to be as good as possible, for both the proponent and surrounding community.

“It is a privilege to be able to review, visit and award projects and their teams.”

The courtyard of a home with landscaping
2019 Winner - Design, New Buildings & Sustainability Award - Aileen Sage Architects - Paddington Courtyard House 

Winners will be announced at a special ceremony to be held at Woollahra Council Chambers in Double Bay on 21 July, which will feature architecture and design enthusiast, television presenter, radio host and comedian, Tim Ross as guest speaker.

"I don't think you can truly celebrate exceptional Australian design enough, and I applaud Woollahra Council for their commitment to this cause. It's my absolute pleasure to be taking to the lectern this year and making a small contribution to this endeavour,” Tim Ross said.

Woollahra Mayor, Susan Wynne said she is looking forward to seeing a range of innovative designs showcased by nominees in 2021.

“We have so many examples of wonderful architecture throughout the Woollahra Municipality, and I’m excited to see the innovative designs nominated for this year’s Awards,” Mayor Wynne said.

“Each entry will tell an interesting story and incorporate excellent design elements in providing highly-liveable and enjoyable spaces that enhance our community.”

Nominations close 21 May. In addition to their awards, all winners will select a charity of their choice to receive a $500 donation.

To find out more and submit a nomination go to:

View the 2019 Woollahra Design Excellence Award winners.

Key Dates

Nominations open - 29 March

Nominations close - 21 May

People's Choice opens - 15 June

People's Choice closes - 7 July

Awards Ceremony - 21 July

Award Categories

Heritage (including heritage items and heritage conservation areas)

Design - Alterations and Additions (other than multiple housing)

Design - New Buildings (other than multiple housing)

Design - New Buildings - Multiple Housing

Other Awards

Sustainability Award

Mayor’s Award

People’s Choice Award

Woollahra News e-newsletter

Subscribe to our monthly e-newsletter Woollahra News and get updates delivered straight to your inbox.