Newly-expanded Woollahra Digital Literary Award calling for entries

In This Section
Newly-expanded Woollahra Digital Literary Award calling for entries

Published 3 June 2021

The 2021 Woollahra Digital Literary Award is seeking submissions from talented writers working in digital mediums.

Now in its fifth year, the Award was founded by Woollahra Council to support both emerging and established writers and innovation in Australian digital literature and publishing.

Reflecting exponential growth in the number of entries in recent years, the Award has expanded in 2021 with the addition of a new Digital Innovation prize.

The Award now offers four prizes, for Fiction, Non-Fiction, Poetry and newly-created Digital Innovation, and a prize pool of $7,500. Members of the public can also vote for their favourite shortlisted work in the Readers’ Choice category.

Entrants are encouraged to submit their published works before 30 August, when entries close. A shortlist will be announced on 5 November and winners will be announced at a special presentation ceremony on 27 November.

Past winners include The Final Boys by Peter Polites (Fiction), Amanda Tink’s Non-Fiction work A History of Reading, and Where I Am Not by Omar Sakr (Poetry).

Award judges for 2021 are Brett Osmond, managing director at creative and digital agency Leading Hand Design and former director of the Australian Government’s Books Alive campaign; Award-winning author and journalist, Bri Lee, Scottish poet and writer Ali Whitelock and novelist, screenwriter and Australian Writers' Centre teacher Margaret Morgan.

"We are pleased to be able to offer our continued support to Australian writers, and thrilled to have seen a significant increase in entries to the Award since its launch. We look forward to many more inventive and compelling submissions in 2021," says Acting Manager – Woollahra Libraries, Corinna Pierce.

The Digital Literary Award is open to all Australian residents aged 16 and over whose published work originated online or in electronic form. To be eligible, submitted works must have been published in the last two years and must be available online as: .epub, .pbd, .mobi/azw, .ibooks or .pdf file from a known e-book vendor or platform (such as iBookstore, Google Play, Amazon, Bookworld, Kobo, Baker & Taylor or Overdrive) or as an article, essay or poetry available on a blog, online magazine or website that has an editorial selection process.

For more information visit Woollahra Digital Literary Award.


Woollahra Libraries

Phone: (02) 9391 7100


Browse more articles


Woollahra News e-newsletter

Subscribe to our monthly e-newsletter Woollahra News and get updates delivered straight to your inbox.