What's new on the shelves?

In This Section

VISIT US

Hours

Monday: 9am-8pm
Tuesday: 9am-8pm
Wednesday: 9am-8pm
Thursday: 9am-8pm
Friday: 9am-8pm
Saturday: 10am-4pm
Sunday: 10am-4pm
Closed on public holidays

View all locations

Contact

Phone
02 9391 7100

Have a question?
Ask the library

Email
library@woollahra.nsw.gov.au

Address

Woollahra Library
Level 1, 451 New South Head Road
Double Bay NSW 2028

Hours

Monday: 9:30am-6pm
Tuesday: 9:30am-6pm
Wednesday: 12pm-8pm
Thursday: 9:30am-6pm
Friday: 9:30am-6pm
Saturday: 10am-4pm
Sunday: 10am-4pm* 
Closed on public holidays

*Please note Paddington Library will be opening on Sundays on a trial basis commencing 20 January 2019.

View all locations

Contact

Phone
02 9391 7988

Have a question?
Ask the library

Email
library@woollahra.nsw.gov.au

Address

Paddington Library
Paddington Town Hall
247 Oxford Street,
Paddington NSW 2021

Hours

Monday: 2pm-5pm
Tuesday: 9:30am-5pm
Wednesday: 12pm-7pm
Thursday: 9:30am-5pm
Friday: 2pm-5pm
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Closed
Closed on public holidays

View all locations

Contact

Phone
02 9391 7999

Have a question?
Ask the library

Email
library@woollahra.nsw.gov.au

Address

Watsons Bay Library
The Tea Gardens
8 Marine Parade
Watsons Bay NSW 2030

Search library ×
Login

Search all databases

New titles for August 2019

Big Sky by Kate Atkinson

Book Cover Big Sky

A brilliant new literary crime novel from number one bestseller Kate Atkinson

Jackson Brodie has relocated to a quiet seaside village in North Yorkshire, in the occasional company of his recalcitrant teenage son Nathan and ageing Labrador Dido, both at the discretion of his former partner Julia. It’s a picturesque setting, but there’s something darker lurking behind the scenes.

Jackson’s current job, gathering proof of an unfaithful husband for his suspicious wife, seems straightforward, but a chance encounter with a desperate man on a crumbling cliff leads him into a sinister network - and back into the path of someone from his past. Old secrets and new lies intersect in this breathtaking new novel, both sharply funny and achingly sad, by one of the most dazzling and surprising writers at work today.

Information provided by Angus and Robertson

Fall: or, Dodge In Hell by Neal Stephenson

Fall:or, Dodge In Hell

The astonishing new work of imaginative fiction from master storyteller and futurist, Neal Stephenson, author of Reamde, Seveneves and Snow Crash Richard "Dodge" Forthrast, the billionaire founder and chairman of video game company Corporation 9592, was last seen in Neal's Stephenson's 2011 novel Reamde. Now middle-aged, Dodge lives a comfortable life in Seattle, managing myriad business interests and spending quality time with his grandniece, Sophia, daughter of his beloved niece Zula (also last seen in Reamde). As Fall opens, Dodge undergoes a "routine medical procedure"; when something goes horribly, irrevocably wrong, he is pronounced brain dead and put on life support. As Dodge's family and friends gather and struggle to come to terms with this turn of events, his health directive comes to light: Dodge's remains are to be given to Ephrata Life Sciences and Health, a company founded and run by one Elmo Shepherd. Dodge's brain will be scanned, its data structures uploaded to and stored in the cloud. What happens next is pure, unadulterated, mind-blowing FUN: a grand drama played out on an epic scale in digital space. For what is achieved, ultimately, is nothing less than the disruption of death itself. A new world, the Bitworld, is created - an afterlife wherein humans live on not as spirits but as digital simulations. But this brave new world is not the Utopia it might first seem... Neal Stephenson is at the cutting edge of speculative fiction. His sprawling, epic stories are master works of imagination, conjuring an all-too-real, all-too-possible future for our society. His work has been recognised by multiple awards and high-profile fans such as Barack Obama. In the tradition of William Gibson and Liu Cixin, The Fall is a compelling, terrifying, fast-paced near-future thriller.

Information provided by Angus and Robertson

The Nancys by R.W.R. McDonald

Book Cover The Nancys

A schoolgirl and her uncle and his boyfriend have two weeks to solve a murder in a small town style forgot…

Tippy Chan is eleven and lives in a small town in a very quiet part of the world - the place her Uncle Pike escaped from the first chance he got as a teenager. Now Pike is back with his new boyfriend Devon to look after Tippy while her mum's on a cruise.

Tippy is in love with her uncle's old Nancy Drew books, especially the early ones where Nancy was sixteen and did whatever she wanted. She wants to be Nancy and is desperate to solve a real mystery. When her teacher's body is found beside Riverstone's only traffic light, Tippy's moment has arrived. She and her minders form The Nancys, a secret amateur detective club.

But what starts as a bonding and sightseeing adventure quickly morphs into something far more dangerous. A wrongful arrest, a close call with the murderer, and an intervention from Tippy's mum all conspire against The Nancys. But regardless of their own safety, and despite the constant distraction of questionable fashion choices in the town that style forgot, The Nancys know only they can stop the killer from striking again.

The Nancys is gripping and glorious, a heart-warming novel for anyone who's ever felt they were on the outside looking in. At its heart it is about the family we make and how we must summon the courage to face the truth, no matter what the cost may be.

Information provided by Angus and Robertson

Stay Sexy and Don't Get Murdered by Georgia Hardstark and Karen Kilgariff

Book Cover Stay Sexy and Don't Get Murdered

The highly anticipated first book by Karen Kilgariff and Georgia Hardstark, the voices behind the #1 hit podcast My Favorite Murder!

In Stay Sexy & Don't Get Murdered, Karen Kilgariff and Georgia Hardstark, hosts of true crime comedy podcast 'My Favorite Murder,' open up about their lives more intimately than ever in their confessionally honest and hilarious debut book, titled after their podcast sign-off.

Sharing never-before-heard stories ranging from their struggles with depression, eating disorders, and addiction, Karen and Georgia irreverently recount their biggest mistakes and deepest fears, reflecting on the formative life events that shaped them into two of the most followed voices in the podcasting world.

Information provided by Angus and Robertson

Underland by Robert Macfarlane 

Book Cover Underland

From the bestselling, multi-award-winning author of Landmarks, The Old Ways and The Lost Words - an unmissable journey into the hidden worlds beneath our feet.

'Into the underland we have long placed that which we fear and wish to lose, and that which we love and wish to save...'

From the vast underground mycelial networks by which trees communicate to the ice-blue depths of glacial moulins, and from North Yorkshire to the Lofoten Islands, Robert Macfarlane traces a voyage through the worlds beneath our feet.

He reaches back into the deep history of the planet, through the layers of rock and ancient buried objects, and forward to the future, the legacy of the anthropocene and the world we bequeath our descendants.

Underland is Macfarlane at his dazzling best - the lyrical, the political and the philosophical come together in this profound exploration of the relationship between landscape and the human heart.

Information provided by Angus and Robertson

California: Living + Eating by Eleanor Maidment

California: Living + Eating

California: Living + Eating is a glorious celebration of Californian food, looking at its history and origins and journeying through the state's varied landscape, from Sonoma's rolling vineyards to the deserts of Palm Springs, via the foodie hotspots of San Francisco and Los Angeles.

Over 80 recipes capture the heart of the Californian spirit, with chapters covering a bright array of sweet and savoury brunch dishes including Whipped Ricotta on Toast with Blackberry Jam and Breakfast Burritos with Cheddar Scramble and Coriander Salsa.

Colourful salads and light meals, such as Salmon, Citrus Kale and Black Rice Salad, are ideal for everyday eating, while the likes of Roast Chicken with Grapes, Onions and Sourdough, followed by stunning Cherry and Almond Galette are perfect for weekend entertaining.

Recipes are designed to be accessible to all home cooks, with a focus on seasonality and good-quality produce

Information provided by Angus and Robertson

Toffee by Sarah Crossan

Book Cover Toffee

The astonishing new novel from the incomparable, multi-award-winning and Laureate na nÓg Sarah Crossan.

I am not who I say I am, and Marla isn't who she thinks she is.

I am a girl trying to forget. She is a woman trying to remember.

Allison has run away from home and with nowhere to live finds herself hiding out in the shed of what she thinks is an abandoned house. But the house isn't empty. An elderly woman named Marla, with dementia, lives there – and she mistakes Allison for an old friend from her past called Toffee.

Allison is used to hiding who she really is, and trying to be what other people want her to be. And so, Toffee is who she becomes. After all, it means she has a place to stay. There are worse places she could be.

But as their bond grows, and Allison discovers how much Marla needs a real friend, she begins to ask herself - where is home? What is a family? And most importantly, who am I, really?

Information provided by Angus and Robertson